Arbitrator Jon Moss was right with the first penalty for Harry Kane

VIỆT ANH |

Recently, the Professional Referees' Association (PGMOL) spoke out about the situation that led to the first 11m kick in the 2-2 draw between Liverpool and Tottenham.

This is a match at Anfield in round 26 of the Premier League. Around the 86th minute, Tottenham was awarded an 11m kick after striker Harry Kane was fouled by goalkeeper Karius in the away penalty area.

The slow-motion television shows that the English striker has previously fallen into an offside position. However, Liverpool centre-back Dejan lovren's touch before reaching Kane could affect whether the Tottenham striker has been offside.

The match's referee - Jon Moss had a discussion with the sideline referee - Eddie Smart, asking the fourth referee Martin Atkison overheard to see if he saw anything on screen before making the final decision.

Recently, the Professional Referees' Association (PGMOL) affirmed that the request for referee Atkinson from referee Jon Moss was a mistake. However, they still support the referee's decision to award a penalty.

A PGMOL spokesperson said about the situation: Referee Jon Moss is in a good position to observe Liverpool players deliberately touching the ball before it went to Harry Kane in the 16m50 round. He was right when he thought Kane was fouled by goalkeeper Leries Karius.

However, given the pace of this attack, he could not be sure which Liverpool player touched the ball. Eddie Smart has identified Harry Kane as offside, which was correct in trying to explain Dejan lovren's deliberate touching.

Doubts appeared in the assistant's memory when Eddie asked if lovren had been offside. Mr. Moss knew a Liverpool player had touched the ball but it was not lovren.

The referee's request for the fourth referee Martin Atkinson to refer to the slow-motion video was a mistake. Atkinson did not respond and was not involved in the final decision...

In the midst of difficult decisions, the referees were right to admit that Harry Kane was not offside and lovren deliberately hit the ball. This striker was fouled and given a penalty kick.

However, Harry Kane failed to make this kick. He only completed the task of another penalty in stoppage time to help Tottenham earn 1 point. Thereby, he also scored his 100th goal in his Premier League career.

VIỆT ANH
TIN LIÊN QUAN

Deputy Prime Minister Ho Duc Phoc is about to go to the US

|

Deputy Prime Minister Ho Duc Phoc paid a working visit to the US and an official visit to the Republic of Cuba.

Construction of sidewalks with trees, Chairman of Ho Chi Minh City People's Committee takes responsibility

|

The Chairman of the Ho Chi Minh City People's Committee requested to consider the responsibility of related units in the sidewalk construction that damaged the root system of 17 lim trees in District 1.

The White House states why Russia is not subject to counterpart tariffs

|

President Donald Trump announced the imposition of countervailing tariffs on February 2 on 185 countries and territories, but Russia is not on the list.

Hanoi promotes tourism with a unique gift festival

|

Hanoi To stimulate tourism, from April 11 to 13, Hanoi will organize the 2025 Tourism gift Festival.

The General Secretary will visit comrade Khamtay Siphandone in Laos

|

General Secretary To Lam will lead a high-ranking delegation of the Party and State of Vietnam to pay a visit to former Party Chairman and former President of Laos Khamtay Siphandone.

Trọng tài trận chung kết U23 Châu Á khen ngợi U23 Việt Nam

HL (T/h) |

Vị trọng tài chính Ahmed Abu Bakar Al-Kaf bắt trận chung kết U23 Châu Á đã dành lời khen cho U23 Việt Nam vì đã chơi một trận đấu quả cảm.

Dân mạng khắp Châu Á “sục sôi” trách trọng tài xử ép U23 Việt Nam

Bích Hà |

Trọng tài người Singapore Muhammad Taqi đã trở thành tâm điểm sau trận đấu với U23 Việt Nam và U23 Qatar với những quyết định có phần bất lợi cho U23 Việt Nam.

“Trọng tài vội vàng, thiếu cân nhắc và quyết định không thuyết phục”

ĐÌNH THẢO |

U23 Việt Nam đã gặp bất lợi ở những phút cuối hiệp 1 trận bán kết với U23 Qatar khi phải nhận một quả phạt 11m, trong một tình huống mà trọng tài đã đưa ra quyết định có phần nặng tay.